Get Dyalog version information in function

General APL language issues

Get Dyalog version information in function

Postby bilekflo on Fri Jul 28, 2023 1:08 pm

Dear all,

Is there a way to get the information from ]version in a function. I would like to know at runtime at which OS I am running on.

Kind regards,
Florian
bilekflo
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:07 pm

Re: Get Dyalog version information in function

Postby AndyS|Dyalog on Sat Jul 29, 2023 8:40 am

That is an interesting question !

At the simplest level you can look
      3↑⊃'.'⎕wg'APLVersion'
which will tell you what O/S you're running on: Win, Lin, AIX, Mac.

However it doesn't differentiate between, for example, Linux on x86 and Linux on Arm. The following snippet of code attempts to do this (it's from NonWindows.Setup in the supplied quadna workspace):
      :Select 3↑⊃'.'⎕WG'APLversion'
:Case 'AIX'
opsys←'AIX'
:Case 'Mac'
opsys←'Mac'
:Case 'Win'
opsys←'Windows'
:Case 'Lin'
:Select 4↑⊃⎕SH'uname -a'
:Case 'armv'
opsys←'Pi'
:Else
opsys←'Linux'
:EndSelect
:EndSelect

apledition←⊃(80=⎕DR' ')↓'Classic' 'Unicode'
aplwidth←{z←⍵ ⋄ 2×⍬⍴⎕SIZE'z'}⍬


However, that I now realise has its limitations: on macOS it doesn't distinguish between running on Intel-based Macs or ARM-based Macs under Rosetta (or for the future, a native ARM-based Dyalog running on ARM).

However, let's cross that bridge when we come to it. I'd go with the code above, but make sure that it's in a cover function: watch this space for a possible better solution to this !
User avatar
AndyS|Dyalog
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 6:06 pm

Re: Get Dyalog version information in function

Postby petermsiegel on Sun Jul 30, 2023 4:31 am

Of course, you can do this (which may not be recommended):
Code: Select all
      capture← ⎕SE.UCMD'Version'     ⍝ Execute an arbitrary user command
      capture
which produces (on a system in a galaxy far away):
Code: Select all
 Dyalog  18.2.45405 64-bit Unicode, BuildID a02bc166
 OS      Darwin 22.5.0 Darwin Kernel Version 22.5.0: Thu Jun  8 22:22:22 PDT 2023; root:xnu-8796.121.3~7/RELEASE_X86_64
 Link    3.0.19
 SALT    2.9 
 UCMD    2.51
 .NET    .NET Core 3.1.5         
 WS      18.2
petermsiegel
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 11:04 pm

Re: Get Dyalog version information in function

Postby bilekflo on Tue Aug 01, 2023 7:32 pm

Hi Andy,

Great. Thank you for this interesting solution.
I needed it to decide how to issue some correct system commands.

Best regards
Florian
bilekflo
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:07 pm


Return to Language

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests