Help w/o internet

General APL language issues

Help w/o internet

Postby Yves on Sat Aug 26, 2017 11:52 am

Dear All,
in my Neighbourhood, we have a lot of Large construction site, and not only, a hard degradation by long optical fiber robbery. so, no phone nor internet...
from one week, and it is not finish to repair.

i use a smartphone to do a wifi spot for a short time. not only, sometimes i stay in white zone.

this week, i discover dyalog v16.0 have no local help.
i am eally sorry, but i need numeric help : books are not up to date, and not really easy to search.

how can i build a minimal help uptodate ?
Yves
Yves
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:33 am

Re: Help w/o internet

Postby Richard|Dyalog on Sun Aug 27, 2017 2:58 pm

Hi, Yves - there is a subdirectory of the Dyalog installation directory named "help", for example:

C:\Program Files\Dyalog\Dyalog APL-64 16.0 Unicode\help

In there you will find PDF versions of all the manuals (i.e. up to date and searchable) and a local copy of the help system in a file called dyalog.chm.

Alternatively, from within the IDE you can press F1 when the cursor is over or immediately to the right of a language element of interest, and the relevant section of the help system will open for you.
User avatar
Richard|Dyalog
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:11 am

Re: Help w/o internet

Postby Yves on Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:31 pm

Hello Richards,
under windows, you're right.

i forgot : my question is under macOS.

apologies,
Yves
Yves
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:33 am

Re: Help w/o internet

Postby Vince|Dyalog on Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:22 am

Hi Yves,

On our Mac and Linux versions, you may be able to find a help subdirectory with pdf files where Dyalog is installed.

On Mac, try here:
/Applications/Dyalog-16.0.app/Contents/Resources/Dyalog/help/

On Linux,
/opt/mdyalog/16.0/64/unicode/help/

Regards,

Vince
Vince|Dyalog
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 9:39 am

Re: Help w/o internet

Postby Yves on Tue Sep 12, 2017 6:07 pm

Dear Vince,

i find
/Applications/Dyalog-16.0.app/

and nothing else.

it is necessary to do a right-click on the name of the app, and choose "Aff the content". After, you go down inside the application and navigate like you say.

Thank you for your help.
yves
Yves
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 11:33 am


Return to Language

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest